Club Awards Night.

2012 Girls Player of the YearEach year the club hosts its annual gala awards night for all of its boys and girls youth players from U11 up to U18 squads. This caters for around 16 teams and in the region of 250 players. It is always a fantastic occasion and has moved from the Glasshouse Hotel to Strandhill Golf Club in recent years due to the sheer scale of the event. Typically between players, parents and friends there are over 300 people at the event !.

Guests of honour have included Ciaran Kelly, Richie Ryan, Alan Keane, Iarlaith Davoren, Joseph Ndo, Raphael Cretaro, Emma Hansberry, Gary Stevens and Ian Barrclough. There are three awards for each team with a Player of the Year, Leading Goalscorer and Merit Award. These are presented by Team Managers but are often picked by the players themselves.

The overall girls award has been kindly sponsored by the Kerins Family in recognition of their own daughter Bronagh who was capped for the Republic of Ireland and is now in the USA on a soccer scholarship. It is now called the Bronagh Kerins Perpetual Trophy.

Perhaps the most prestigious awards are the overall club youth boys and youth girls players of the year. Previous winners have included Republic of Ireland International Emma Hansberry. The overall winners are listed below:

Year Boys Player of the Year Girls Player of the Year
2015 Lorcan Callaghan Leah Kelly
2014 Mark McCallion Meadbh Keneally
2013 Aaron O Boyle Sarah Keaney
2012 Oisin Conway Grainne Egan
2011 David Joyce Emma Hansberry
2010 Gary Cadden Emma Hansberry
Back to Top